Tags

, ,

Many of us have found a relative or two that earned their crust working on the railroad, after all, the railroad was in its prime.  Finding records for railroad pensioners isn’t as easy.

I would suggest beginning with the United States Railroad Retirement Board when searching for pension information.  They have a special section for requesting railroad retirement records and charge a nominal fee ($27).  They only have records for individuals who worked for the railroad after 1936.

I requested my great-grandfather’s records and was very happy to receive a large packet of information, well worth the money I spent.  I got photo copies of his marriage license, a list of his children, the names of his parents and his employment records that began in 1905 and showed his progression in positions from brakeman to engineer.

Don’t delay, Dinah, get your request mailed today!

