I’ve been away for a long while, dealing with issues, but I’m happy to report that I’ve picked up my pen, so to speak, and I’m back to blogging for genealogy!

My first post is about the Shamokin Cemetery in Shamokin, Northumberland County, PA. The Shamokin Festival, aka Anthracite Heritage Festival, will be held this month on the 27th and 28th, and the cemetery will be providing historical tours on Saturday, May 28, 2016.

I have many relatives buried in this cemetery, and I would have appreciated this website years ago as I tromped about the graves looking for family. But now you won’t have to as the burials are all listed on the website with all the info that is available!  You can search for your loved ones at this link by clicking here. There are also maps of the cemetery so you can easily find the grave of your loved one. Just keep in mind, not every grave has a marker, so you might not find a stone to photograph.

I have to offer kudos to the kind folks who have taken their time to put up and maintain this new genealogical resource! Sites like these are so valuable for those who live far and near.

If you are in the area over the Memorial Day weekend, stop by Shamokin and enjoy the festival and visit the cemetery.

Cem-Picturesm

