Tags

Recently, I offered to do just a bit of research for a friend whose family came from Butler County, Pennsylvania. I Googled the county and one of the hits took me to the Butler Area Public Library. I checked out their genealogy link and was instantly impressed.  Let me give you a smattering of what they offer:

The Weir Genealogy Room where you can conduct your research and get the help of a genealogist.  This resource has the largest records for Butler County.

A Newspaper Photo Index from the Butler Eagle spanning the years of 1935 – 1992. Most of the clippings are social events, such as births, marriages, deaths, etc. There is an index you can search by name.

Access to Heritage Quest, for free, all you need is your library card bar code, and from what I read, you can access this from your own home.

Access to Butler County Obituary and Newspaper Index from 1818 to current.

Ancestry Library Edition, you must use it in the library.

Butler County Poor Farm Records Index that spans 1900-1963 and the records are indexed for easy searching.

The library also offers suggestions on what to bring to do your research and some other helpful tips.

This is a great resource for anyone with family from Butler County.  I’ll do some checking to find other counties that have great resources like this for genealogists and post my finds.

